Thursday Treasures 12/11

The other day I heard someone say, “Women are from Venus, men are from Mars.” I have not heard this expression in ages, however it made me think about where we are with gender differences today. The theme of this weeks treasures is gender differences/ perceptions.

Screen Shot 2014-12-01 at 11.19.04 PM

1. A few weeks ago I attended a talk by psychologist, Clare Murray from St. Joseph’s University. Murray shared a handful of interesting facts. Below are some points that resonated with me:

  • Gender essentialism: Theory that men and women act differently and have different options in life due to intrinsic differences between the genders.
  • Acceptance of gender inequalities is highest among children 6-8 years old.
  • Gender norm violations are more acceptable in the U.S. compared to Korea.

2. Women are often portrayed in unrealistic ways in the media. Take a look at this video where children react to a realistic-looking Barbie…Very refreshing!

3. Shonda Rhimes, writer and producer of some of my FAVORITE T.V. shows (How to get away with Murder, Scandal and Greys Anatomy) recently gave a speech on women in media.

1 thought on “Thursday Treasures 12/11

  1. Since I’m the only one to vote I feel like I should add that I think we are moving toward gender equality slowly. I would use the phrase at a glacial pace, but I think the glaciers will all be melted before we reach gender equality. Martin Luther King said that “The arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends towards justice.” He was a smart guy and I tend to believe him. I was kinda wondering what your opinions on the subject are, since you show things that you found interesting on the subject but never really state you position? I like how you used links to allow the conversation to move outside of your blog. And I want to say that as a whole, you have a really wonderful blog. I haven’t commented before now, but I have been reading and enjoying your work.

    Like

Leave a comment